Simple assault in Iowa is a statutory criminal violation punishable by fines ranging from $65 to $650 and jail up to 30 days. Simple assault can be committed in a number of ways including:
Any act which is intended to cause pain or injury to, or which is intended to result in physical contact which will be insulting or offensive to another, coupled with the apparent ability to execute the act.
Any act which is intended to place another in fear or immediate physical contact which will be painful, injurious, insulting, or offensive, coupled with the apparent ability to execute the act.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for an Iowa OWI (DUI), contact DAC-LAW PLC at 319-389-4276 or
for an initial consultation today. However, remember that a blog is not legal advice and that sending unsolicited information to an attorney over the Internet does not establish an attorney-client relationship.
Good choices after an alleged assault, it may seem logical and appropriate that you would want to apologize to the alleged victim. Your instinct may be to reach out to him or her on social media, to apologize, or explain your actions. You may be invited to act on those instincts by law enforcement, to "give your side," or even to write a statement as to what exactly happened. To most law abiding people, this only seems natural. If you can only convince law enforcement or others of the injustice of the situation and the propriety of your actions, you think you might be able to escape criminal prosecution or repudiation in your circle of friends. This would be a mistake. Do not talk about an alleged assault. Contact a lawyer who practices exclusively in the area of criminal law now to protect your rights and become an informed legal consumer. Contact DAC-LAW PLC today at 319-389-4276.