What are the penalties for an OWI (DUI) conviction in Iowa?  

by DAC-LAW PLC


First time operating while intoxicated, or, operating while under the influence, in Iowa, in violation of Iowa Code Sec. 321J.2, is punishable by a minimum 48 hours in jail, fines ranging from $1250 to $1875, and a maximum of 365 days in jail. Test refusals and BrAC test results of .15 or higher are deferred judgment ineligibile.


Second offense OWI in Iowa is punishable by at least seven days in jail, fines ranging from $1875 to $6250, and a maximum indeterminate prison sentence of two years. 


Third offense OWI in Iowa is punishable by at least 30 days in jail. The balance of an indetermine prison sentence of five years may be suspended. Fines range from three thousand one hundred twenty-five dollars to nine thousand three hundred seventy-five dollars



If you or a loved one has been arrested for OWI in Iowa, contact DAC-LAW PLC at 319-389-4276 for an initial consultation. 

Couple beers. ‚ÄčNo one tells an OWI suspect that a couple beers could result in a serious misdemeanor, aggravated misdemeanor, or even a felony with significant potential for incarceration and, with the latter, a felony conviction. If you or a loved has been arrested for OWI (DUI) in Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, Waterloo, or other Iowa community, contact DAC-LAW PLC at 319-389-4276. However, remember that a blog is not legal advice and sending unsolicited information to an attorney does not necessarily establish an attorney-client relationship. 

DAC-LAW PLC logo




aluminum beer can top with pop top open

DAC-LAW PLC - Cedar Rapids OWI-DUI and Criminal Defense Lawyer

305 2nd Avenue Suite 200

Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52401

319-389-4276


Iowa OWI (DUI) Penalties
OWI-1stSerious misdemeanor. 48 hours in jail minimum. Fines ranging from $1250 to $1875. Maximum one year in jail. Test refusals and BrACs of .15 or higher are deferred judgment ineligible. Weekend program *may* substitute for jail if otherwise acceptable to the court. 
OWI-2ndAggravated misdemeanor. Seven (7) days in jail minimum. Fines ranging from $1875-$6250. Always deferred ineligible. Seven days cannot be suspended. May be separated into multiple surrender dates of no fewer than 48 hours if court finds undue hardship. Maximum indeterminate two year prison sentence.
OWI-3rdClass "D" felony. Always deferred ineligible. Thirty (30) days jail always required. Balance of indeterminate prison sentence *may* be suspended if acceptable to the court. Fines ranging from $3125 to $9375.